Entrepreneurship and reforestation for sustainable development in Madagascar


Entrepreneurship and reforestation for sustainable development in Madagascar

Biodiversity is particularly high in Madagascar. Around 5 percent of all animal and plant species worldwide are at home here. Many species can only be found here and are therefore particularly worthy of protection. The poverty-stricken population depends heavily on natural resources and use firewood to cook. However, the demand for it is so great that the capacity of the natural forests is not enough, and it also happens that forests are cut down in protected areas. The forests are shrinking day by day. Together with the government, communities and municipalities, other organizations, companies and especially the population, this trend should be stopped.

To preserve the forests in the long term, WWF is addressing two issues in this project:  Energy-efficient cooking stoves reduce the need for firewood and charcoal, and the extraction of wood is steered into regulated channels. Thanks to reforestation and regulated use in a controlled value chain, the forests are preserved in the long term – as a resource for the population and as a habitat for the unique flora and fauna with countless endemic species. The focus of our work is on Malagasy women. They take over the production and distribution of cooking stoves and organize themselves in savings groups, in order to save their own assets and as an access to credits.

Role of EGS
Financial support of the project

Objective
To protect the unique forests of southwestern Madagascar from deforestation for firewood, while ensuring sustainable access to renewable cooking energy for the population and supporting them in socioeconomic development.

Duration
September 2020 – August 2023 (3 years)

Amount of funding
CHF 200’000

Unternehmertum und Aufforstung für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung in Madagaskar


Unternehmertum und Aufforstung für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung in Madagaskar

In Madagaskar ist die Artenvielfalt besonders gross. Rund 5 Prozent aller Tier- und Pflanzenarten weltweit sind hier zu Hause. Viele Arten sind nur noch hier zu finden und daher sind sie besonders schützenswert. Die von der Armut geplagte Bevölkerung hängt stark von den natürlichen Ressourcen ab und benutzen Brennholz zu kochen. Der Bedarf danach ist jedoch so gross, dass die Kapazitäten der Naturwälder nicht ausreichen und es kommt auch vor, dass Wälder in Schutzgebiete gerodet werden. Die Wälder schrumpfen von Tag zu Tag. Gemeinsam mit der Regierung, den Gemeinden und Kommunen, weiteren Organisationen, Unternehmen und vor allem mit der Bevölkerung soll dieser Trend gestoppt werden.
Um die Wälder langfristig zu erhalten, setzt der WWF in diesem Projekt an zwei Punkten an: Energieeffiziente Kochherde senken den Bedarf an Brennholz und Holzkohle und die Gewinnung von Holz wird in geregelte Bahnen gelenkt. Dank Wiederaufforstungen und regulierter Nutzung in einer kontrollierten Wertschöpfungskette bleiben die Wälder langfristig erhalten – als Ressource für die Bevölkerung und als Lebensraum für die einzigartige Flora und Fauna mit unzähligen endemischen Arten. Im Fokus unserer Arbeit stehen madagassischen Frauen. Sie übernehmen massgeblich die Produktion und den Vertrieb von Kochherden und organisieren sich in Spargruppen, zum Ansparen von eigenem Vermögen sowie als Zugang zu Krediten.

Funktion EGS
Finanzielle Unterstützung des Projektes

Ziel
Die einzigartigen Wälder im Südwesten Madagaskars vor der Abholzung für Brennholz zu schützen, gleichzeitig der Bevölkerung einen nachhaltigen Zugang zu erneuerbaren Kochenergie zu sichern und sie in der sozioökonomischen Entwicklung zu unterstützen.

Laufzeit
September 2020 – August 2023 (3 Jahre)

Betrag
CHF 200’000