Holistic care for children with special needs


Holistic care for children with special needs or at risk of developing a disability, and counselling for families in poverty-stroken neighbourhoods of the city of Cartagena de Indias.

When disability and poverty come together, a particularly hopeless situation seems to arise. To counteract this, we offer the Aluna Móvil project in Cartagena de Indias (Colombia), which provides curative education through home visits for families living in extreme poverty with a disabled child or a child at risk of developing a disability.
Thus, the primary goal of Aluna Móvil is to promote a loving and emotional relationship between the mother (or parents) and the child. This not only reduces the risks of rejection, abuse or neglect, but also decisively strengthens and improves the child’s quality of life and his or her fundamental rights.
An Aluna Móvil team consists of two early childhood educators and a social worker, and, where necessary, our interdisciplinary team provides further support. With an Aluna Móvil team, about 100 to 120 children between 0 and 7 years old and their families from a neighbourhood characterized by severe poverty are taken care of, supported and advised approximately two hours per week.

Role of EGS
Co-funding of the Aluna Móvil project

Objective
In addition to significantly promoting children’s overall development, independence and health, the Aluna Móvil project also strengthens the parent-child relationship, reduces risks of rejection or neglect and supports the child’s transition into the local health and school system.

Duration
2021-2023 (3 years)

Amount of funding
CHF 150’000

Heilpädagogische Früherziehung für Kinder mit Behinderung


Heilpädagogische Früherziehung für Kinder mit Behinderung und Beratung der Familie bei sich zu Hause in von Armut betroffenen Vierteln der Stadt Cartagena.

Wenn Behinderung und Armut zusammentreffen, entsteht eine besonders ausweglos erscheinende Situation. Um dem entgegenzuwirken, bieten wir mit dem Projekt Aluna Móvil in Cartagena de Indias (Kolumbien) eine heilpädagogische Förderung durch Hausbesuche für Familien in Armutsverhältnissen mit einem behinderten Kind an.
So ist das vorrangige Ziel von Aluna Móvil, eine liebevolle und emotionale Beziehung zwischen Mutter (bzw. Eltern) und Kind zu fördern, wodurch nicht nur die Risiken einer Zurückweisung, Misshandlung oder Vernachlässigung gemindert werden, sondern auch die unveräußerlichen Grundrechte und die Lebensqualität des Kindes entscheidend gestärkt und verbessert werden.
Ein Aluna Móvil-Team besteht aus zwei Heilpädagogischen Früherziehern oder Früherzieherinnen und einem/einer Sozialarbeiter/in, und bei Bedarf wird zudem die Beratung durch unser interdisziplinäres Team herangezogen. Mit einem Aluna Móvil-Team werden in etwa 100 bis 120 Säuglinge oder Kleinkinder und deren Familien in einem von starker Armut charakterisierten Viertel zwei Stunden pro Woche betreut, gefördert und beraten.

Funktion EGS
Ko-finanzierung des Projekts Aluna Móvil

Ziel
Mit dem Projekt Aluna Móvil wird nicht nur das Entwicklungspotential, die Selbstständigkeit und die Gesundheit des Kindes gezielt gefördert, sondern auch die Eltern-Kind Beziehung gestärkt, die Risiken einer familiären Zurückweisung oder Vernachlässigung gemindert und der Übergang des Kindes in das lokale Gesundheits- und Schulsystem begleitet.

Laufzeit
2021-2023 (3 Jahre)

Betrag
CHF 150’000