The Eckenstein-Geigy-Stiftung is committed to people with special needs, research and social development.

We strive to help people to live self-determined, independent and dignified lives. The sustainability of the supported projects in regards to future generations is essential for us. As a modern foundation and responsible family, we are open to new and innovative forms of philanthropy. In addition to traditional project funding, we invest in visionary social enterprises.

Foundation Board

Gabriel Eckenstein
President of the Board of Trustees

Corinne Eckenstein
Member of the Board of Trustees

Dominik Eckenstein
Member of the Board of Trustees

Foundation Management

Renate Schnyder Plattner
Managing director

Matthias and Jeannine Eckenstein-Geigy were already passionate philanthropists during their lifetime. In their hometown of Basel, they were involved, among other projects, in the construction of the new ape facility of the Basler Zolli. The Eckenstein-Geigy-Stiftung was finally established in 2007 by Matthias Eckenstein and his three children. The foundation is non-religious and politically neutral. Its registered seat is in Basel.

Philanthropic involvement is deeply rooted in our family tradition.

Jeannine & Matthias Eckenstein-Geigy


We want to encourage people and organisations to commit themselves to a good life for everyone according to their possibilities - now and for future generations.

We are committed to ensuring that people with special needs can develop their individual potential and are respected by society as equals. We believe in an inclusive society in which all people – with and without handicaps – can lead a self-determined, fulfilled life and contribute their abilities. No one is left behind.

We are striving to ensure that all people have access to health and that all children receive the best possible medical care. Functioning health systems contribute to greater prosperity and quality of life all over the world. In addition, age-appropriate medication-dosing and the optimisation of medication significantly improve medical care for children.

We are dedicated to ensure that young people can build and shape their future in a self-determined way. We are convinced that personal responsibility and prudent use of natural resources make the world worth living for future generations. We believe that art and culture are important sources of inspiration.


Systematic funding - careful investing: In collaboration with our partners, we aim to give impulses and achieve concrete results from which future generations will benefit from.


Systematic funding - careful investing: In collaboration with our partners, we aim to give impulses and achieve concrete results from which future generations will benefit from.


As a small team, we maintain the relationships with our funding partners, always with the aim of generating synergies and further increasing the impact of the funded projects.

We strive to make a difference. That is why we accompany our projects over a longer period of time and complement them very selectively with activities that we are looking for or developing by ourselves.

We regret that we cannot process unrequested applications or project proposals.

Please contact our office for any further information.

Die Eckenstein-Geigy-Stiftung setzt sich für Menschen mit Behinderung ein, für Forschung und gesellschaftliche Entwicklung.

Wir möchten Menschen zu einem selbstbestimmten, unabhängigen und würdigen Leben verhelfen. Die Nachhaltigkeit der geförderten Projekte im Hinblick auf zukünftige Generationen ist essentiell. Als moderne Stiftung und verantwortungsbewusste Familie sind wir offen für neue, innovative Formen der Philanthropie. Neben der klassischen Förderung investieren wir in visionäre soziale Unternehmen.

Stiftungsrat

Gabriel Eckenstein
Präsident des Stiftungsrats

Corinne Eckenstein
Mitglied des Stiftungsrats

Dominik Eckenstein
Mitglied des Stiftungsrats

Geschäftsführung

Renate Schnyder Plattner

Schon zu Lebzeiten waren Matthias und Jeannine Eckenstein-Geigy philanthropisch aktiv. Sie engagierten sich in ihrer Heimatstadt Basel unter anderem für den Neubau der Menschenaffenanlage des Basler Zollis. Die Eckenstein-Geigy-Stiftung wurde schliesslich 2007 von Matthias Eckenstein und seinen drei Kindern ins Leben gerufen. Die Stiftung ist konfessionslos und politisch neutral. Der Sitz ist in Basel.

Philanthropisches Wirken ist tief in der Familientradition verwurzelt.


Wir wollen Menschen und Organisationen bestärken, sich nach ihren Möglichkeiten für ein gutes Leben für alle einzusetzen - jetzt und für zukünftige Generationen.

Wir engagieren uns, dass Menschen mit Behinderung ihr individuelles Potential entfalten können und von der Gesellschaft als gleichwertig respektiert werden. Wir glauben an eine inklusive Gesellschaft, in der alle Menschen – mit und ohne Behinderung – ein selbstbestimmtes, erfülltes Leben führen und ihre Fähigkeiten einbringen können. Niemand wird zurückgelassen. 

Wir setzen uns dafür ein, dass alle Menschen Zugang zu Gesundheit haben und dass alle Kinder die bestmögliche medizinische Versorgung erhalten. Denn funktionierende Gesundheitssysteme tragen auf der ganzen Welt zu mehr Wohlstand und Lebensqualität bei. Eine altersgerechte Medikamenten-Dosierung und Optimierung von Arzneimitteln verbessern zudem die medizinische Versorgung für Kinder massgeblich.

Wir machen uns stark, dass junge Menschen ihre Zukunft selbstbestimmt aufbauen und gestalten können. Weil wir überzeugt sind, dass Eigenverantwortung und ein umsichtiger Umgang mit den natürlichen Ressourcen die Welt auch für zukünftige Generationen lebenswert machen. Kunst und Kultur sehen wir dabei als wichtige Impulsgeber.


Gezielt fördern - umsichtig investieren: Gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern wollen wir Impulse geben und konkrete Wirkung erzielen, von der auch zukünftige Generationen profitieren können.


Gezielt fördern - umsichtig investieren: Gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern wollen wir Impulse geben und konkrete Wirkung erzielen, von der auch zukünftige Generationen profitieren können.


Als kleines Team pflegen wir die Beziehungen mit unseren Förderpartnern, immer mit dem Ziel, Synergien zu generieren und die Wirkung der geförderten Projekte noch weiter zu steigern.

Wir möchten uns nicht verzetteln sondern gezielt etwas bewirken. Die von uns begleiteten Projekte sind deshalb alle langfristig ausgelegt. Ergänzt werden sie punktuell mit Engagements, welche wir selbst suchen oder entwickeln.

Unaufgefordert eingereichte Unterstützungsgesuche oder Projektvorschläge können wir leider nicht bearbeiten.

Bitte kontaktieren Sie unsere Geschäftsstelle für weitere Auskünfte.